City Colleges of Chicago Black History Month

Alpha Phi Alpha, Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Psi Phi, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Phi Beta Sigma, Zeta Phi Beta, Sigma Gamma Rho, and Iota Phi Theta are better known as the Divine Nine. The Divine Nine are the nine recognized Black Greek-letter organizations. The rich history of these organizations, which are dedicated to public service, education, and brotherhood and sisterhood, dates back to the early 1900s.

City Colleges faculty and staff members at all seven colleges and the District Office are a part of these historic organizations. Their commitment to their fraternity or sorority doesn’t stop when they receive their bachelor’s or master’s degree. Read what some our employees have to say about their Divine Nine sorority or fraternity, why they joined, and how it impacts their life today.